top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureJessica

Using a Video Game for Math Facts


Below is a video explaining a game that was made to help students practice adding and subtracting coins finding a total amount.



You can play the game here :



Lesson Plan:

Title of lesson: How much money do they have?

Content area: 2nd Grade Math – Counting change

Number of Students: 2

Standards: 2MD 8. Solve word problems involving dollar bills, quarters, dimes, nickels, and pennies, using $ and ¢ symbols appropriately. Example: If you have 2 dimes and 3 pennies, how many cents do you have?

Learning Targets/Objectives:

SWBAT identify coins by their name and value.

SWBAT complete addition and subtraction word problems to identify how much money.

Materials: SmartBoard, whiteboards, computers, video game (created by the teacher)

Beginning of lesson/Anticipatory set:

Students will be asked to name the different coins and how much they are worth, we have been working on this for the last week.

Middle of lesson/Direct Instruction/Guided practice:

I will project word problems involving money. I will model the first problem and show students that we need to identify how much money the person in the word problem has by identifying how much each coin is worth. We will then work through 2 more problems together, having them direct me in how to solve the problem.

End of lesson/Independent practice:

Students will then go onto the computer and play the online game created bv the teacher. In order to complete a level, students will need to answer word problem questions correctly by identify how much money the person in the problem has.

Reflection: Making a video game was challenging for me. I was not a huge fan of this interface and it's options, but in the end I really enjoyed making this game for my students.


Reflection: Making a video game was a challenging process for me. I was not big on the interface that this website has to offer, but in the end I really enjoyed making this game for my students.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

360 Video

I thought that trying a 360 virtual tour with my students be really cool to try. Being a resource teacher, we don’t focus on much content like science and social studies, so trying to find one that I

Differentiation by Product

Here I was tasked with writing a lesson that was differentiated for my students, but not in the content, in the product. Students were to be graded on quality of their work not the quantity. Standards

First Podcast Attempt

Below is a review of the assumed process of making podcasts and a review of two different podcasts that I listened to. It describes items that generally go into a podcast and various topics. Reflectio

bottom of page